top of page
  • Paul

Does Mashpee have a beach?


My wife asked me this evening, "Does Mashpee even have a beach?" My answer was No. I always considered it an inland town. What I forgot is that Mashpee abuts a waterfront state park and the Waquoit Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve. So the answer is yes, Mashpee does have a beach.


After a post-dinner ice cream at Polar Caves Ice Cream, we did a bit of exploring as sunset approached. We drove down to the coast, and sure enough, found the Mashpee Town Beach. It is protected by a tall sand dune, and a long, narrow beach stretches for a long way. In the distance, you can see Martha's Vineyard on the horizon, and Falmouth and Woods Hole to the west.

On our way back to the car, we saw this sign:


I don't think I have ever gone crabbing. But with no permit required, and a limit of 25 per person, I think this could be good, delicious fun.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page