top of page
  • Paul

Battle of the Juicy Lucy

Minneapolis has a lot to offer. Good local beer. Beautiful parks along the Mississippi. A massive shopping mall. And some of the unhealthiest food I have ever seen.


Enter, the Juicy Lucy. How to describe the Juicy Lucy? It's a cheeseburger with the cheese cooked on the inside of the burger, instead of on top. This gives you a molten core of cheese when you bite into the burger.


Minneapolis is the home of the Juicy Lucy. And two local taverns claim to be the original. Matt's Bar versus the 5-8 Club. We visited both, and in doing so, have done irreparable damage to our bodies.





The 5-8 Club is a lot larger than Matt's. It is more of a traditional restaurant, while Matt's is more of a bar with some tables. Both are chock full of locals. The 5-8 Club is bit nicer, while Matt's is a bit edgier.


Now, for the burgers. We were fortunate to sit at the bar at Matt's and watch the cook make each burger, while the secret to the Juicy Lucy remained just that at 5-8, as they had a proper kitchen, hidden away from prying eyes.


This is what the burgers looked like:




Which one was better? I hate to offer a cop-out, but they were both equally good. In a blind taste test, I don't think I could pick a winner. I'm just glad that I had the chance to try them for myself, despite the years that it may have taken off my life.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page