top of page
  • Paul

Ahhhhhh, Fiji

I'm back. The long, arduous wait to return to Fiji has ended.

918 days. It has been 918 days since I stepped foot in Fiji. This is the longest I have gone between visits to my home-away-from-home in almost 25 years.


It took a bit of effort to get here. Arriving 4+ hours prior to my international flight, I immediately walked to the Tom Bradley International Terminal. There, I waited in the Fiji Airways check in line for just over 2 hours. You would think that long lines and loads of travelers would put everyone in a bad mood. It was remarkable how happy everyone was - heck, we are going to Fiji! Once to the front of the line, I had to show proof of vaccination documents, a negative Covid-19 test I took two days ago, proof of travel insurance, and confirmations of my accommodation in Fiji. I will give Fiji Airways a lot of leeway - heck, they just started flying to Fiji again two days ago.


Landing in Nadi was emotional. It felt so good to be back.


Sure, lots of Fijians are wearing masks. But there is no hiding their magical smiles.



On arrival to the Nadi International Airport, I proceeded very quickly through Immigration and Customs. With only carry-on bags, I whisked my way through to the International Arrivals Hall, and found the van driver for my hotel.


I enjoy staying at the Fiji Gateway Hotel. It is close, convenient, and the staff are so lovely. The newly renovated rooms are so much nicer - particularly the enlarged, modern bathrooms. The staff at the restaurant as incredibly friendly and helpful.


Based on Fiji's arrival requirements, I had to get a rapid Covid test 48 hours after I landed, and the Fiji Gateway staff was very helpful arranging this. They had an on-site testing location, with a very easy reservations process. The entire procedure took less than 10 minutes.


It does feel a little strange being in Fiji during Covid times. But if I had the option to be anywhere, it would be here, with my Fiji family.

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page